Recently, some users have been getting the following popup notification after making changes in app permissions. This is a problem that has surfaced with the latest Android Marshmallow update. This issue has been affecting many other apps besides drupe (including giants such as Clean Master), and it derives from Google's new permission management protocol. You can read more about it in this AndroidPit article.
Here is the notice that pops up:
Users get the "Screen overlay detected" popup in one of two possible scenarios -
1. When trying to install a new app that prompts a popup, requesting a new permission.
When trying to grant the permission, the "Screen overlay detected" popup appears.
2. When going to an app's info via settings > Device > Apps, and trying to make changes in apps' - not necessarily drupe's - permissions. This scenario is the more common of the two.
We have recently released a version with an in-built workaround for this issue.
When you disable drupe's overlay access, you will receive a notification that says: "drupe is disabled? Press to enable". When tapping the notification, you'll be requested to give drupe usage access. This only means that drupe will be able to tell when the operating system prompts the "Screen overlay detected" popup - nothing besides that. Afterward, you will be forwarded to re-enable drupe as an overlay. Now, whenever the system will prompt this popup, drupe will hide itself automatically and reappear when you are finished, thus separating the intersecting layers causing the problem.
Another optional solution would be dragging the drupe dots to the bottom of the screen and dropping them where it says "Hide", thus removing them from the overlay. Once you return to the home screen, the dots will pop right back to where they were and everything will go on as normal.
If hiding the dots doesn't help, go to drupe settings > General > Exit > Deactivate drupe, and then continue. After you're done, restart drupe by tapping its icon in your app drawer.
Please note that other apps with overlay permission can cause this as well - when you are redirected to the settings page where all the apps that require overlay permissions, have a quick look to see what other apps beside drupe have "Yes" written below them (it could also be caused, for example, by having a Facebook chathead on screen). Try removing any "floating" notifications from apps or disable their overlay access until you complete the installation process, then revert the settings to how they were.
We know it's a real drag, it's a major OS bug, and we hope to be able to work around it ASAP.